64-bit computers

Prattle and quarrel about the fictional WW1 arcade air-battle game
User avatar
sey
Regular
Regular
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:38 am
Location: I don't know
Contact:

64-bit computers

Postby sey » Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:51 am

Hey dragst, will it work on as a 64-bit program on a 64-bit machine?
Sorry, bad englerish
Image
User avatar
TZ
Scarred Veteran
Scarred Veteran
Posts: 1033
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Nurkka
Contact:

Postby TZ » Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:34 pm

Althou' I am not certain, I highly doubt it.
The post above should not be taken seriously.
User avatar
sey
Regular
Regular
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:38 am
Location: I don't know
Contact:

Postby sey » Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:52 am

But maybe the newer computers might need the 64-bit version.
Sorry, bad englerish

Image
User avatar
Dragst
Crew
Crew
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Dragst » Sun Nov 14, 2004 3:31 pm

The problem is, a real 64-bit machine is yet to appear as there is no such thing on the moment. Yes, even my new processor is "64-bit" but that doesn't mean the environment is truly 64-bit. No, there is not going to be a 64-bit version of TT2 as there is no compiler to compile native 64-bit code to non-existent computers AND whenever they really appear, I'm quite sure "old" 32-bit software will work with it.
User avatar
dekstar
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 8:44 pm
Location: Wales, UK.
Contact:

Postby dekstar » Sun Nov 14, 2004 4:42 pm

Dragst wrote:The problem is, a real 64-bit machine is yet to appear as there is no such thing on the moment. Yes, even my new processor is "64-bit" but that doesn't mean the environment is truly 64-bit. No, there is not going to be a 64-bit version of TT2 as there is no compiler to compile native 64-bit code to non-existent computers AND whenever they really appear, I'm quite sure "old" 32-bit software will work with it.


Wouldn't you also need a special 64-bit monitor to display all those extra colours?

I'm not a computer genious, so feel free to poke me with sticks if any of my above statement is very far off.
smelly?
User avatar
sey
Regular
Regular
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:38 am
Location: I don't know
Contact:

Postby sey » Mon Nov 15, 2004 5:23 am

You don't need a 64-bit computer screen for the colours. They're the same colours on a 32-bit computer. The main difference between a 32-bit computer and a 64-bit computer is the speed. A 64-bit computer is 2 times faster than a 32-bit computer. So lets sey (I mean say) you have a 2GHz 32-bit processor and a 2000 64-bit processor. The 64-bit is about 2 times faster than the 32-bit one. :^o (this is the best emoticon of a poking stick)
Sorry, bad englerish

Image
User avatar
sey
Regular
Regular
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:38 am
Location: I don't know
Contact:

Postby sey » Mon Nov 15, 2004 5:24 am

And anyway isn't it genius?
Sorry, bad englerish

Image
User avatar
TZ
Scarred Veteran
Scarred Veteran
Posts: 1033
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Nurkka
Contact:

Postby TZ » Mon Nov 15, 2004 2:31 pm

Yes well and guess what is also genious? The edit-button!
The post above should not be taken seriously.
User avatar
Dragst
Crew
Crew
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Dragst » Mon Nov 15, 2004 3:01 pm

sey wrote:You don't need a 64-bit computer screen for the colours. They're the same colours on a 32-bit computer. The main difference between a 32-bit computer and a 64-bit computer is the speed. A 64-bit computer is 2 times faster than a 32-bit computer. So lets sey (I mean say) you have a 2GHz 32-bit processor and a 2000 64-bit processor. The 64-bit is about 2 times faster than the 32-bit one. :^o (this is the best emoticon of a poking stick)

Not quite. You're mixing up concepts now.

When talking about speeding up things with 64-bit system, it means the bus to/from cpu is double as "wide" compared to 32-bit one, but it certainly isn't twice as fast, it can just transfer more data. The actual cpu speed isn't relative to it's bus bit value. For example, if the bus doesn't optimize the data-flow itself, a 2GHz processor runs 32 bit software just as fast as 64bit one.

If we talk about colours, there is this system coming up called HDR (high dynamic range). As 32bit is already enough for 16mil+ colours, instead of increasing this (why bother, as that's a shitload of colours already ;)) they make the colours floating point values / decimals. This will result in better accuracy, and mostly clip-free colours.
User avatar
sey
Regular
Regular
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:38 am
Location: I don't know
Contact:

Postby sey » Tue Nov 16, 2004 4:39 am

:lol: I mean very good. I was just testing you.
Sorry, bad englerish

Image
User avatar
Dragst
Crew
Crew
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Dragst » Sat Nov 20, 2004 4:11 pm

I don't believe a word of it ;)
User avatar
sey
Regular
Regular
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:38 am
Location: I don't know
Contact:

Postby sey » Sun Nov 21, 2004 3:32 am

I do.
Sorry, bad englerish

Image
User avatar
Dragst
Crew
Crew
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Dragst » Mon Nov 22, 2004 1:15 am

Are you sure? ;)
User avatar
sey
Regular
Regular
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:38 am
Location: I don't know
Contact:

Postby sey » Mon Nov 22, 2004 5:04 am

What are we talking about anyway?
Sorry, bad englerish

Image
User avatar
sey
Regular
Regular
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:38 am
Location: I don't know
Contact:

Postby sey » Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:02 am

Was it this?

sey wrote:You don't need a 64-bit computer screen for the colours. They're the same colours on a 32-bit computer. The main difference between a 32-bit computer and a 64-bit computer is the speed. A 64-bit computer is 2 times faster than a 32-bit computer. So lets sey (I mean say) you have a 2GHz 32-bit processor and a 2000 64-bit processor. The 64-bit is about 2 times faster than the 32-bit one. :^o (this is the best emoticon of a poking stick)


This?

Dragst wrote:Not quite. You're mixing up concepts now.

When talking about speeding up things with 64-bit system, it means the bus to/from cpu is double as "wide" compared to 32-bit one, but it certainly isn't twice as fast, it can just transfer more data. The actual cpu speed isn't relative to it's bus bit value. For example, if the bus doesn't optimize the data-flow itself, a 2GHz processor runs 32 bit software just as fast as 64bit one.

If we talk about colours, there is this system coming up called HDR (high dynamic range). As 32bit is already enough for 16mil+ colours, instead of increasing this (why bother, as that's a shitload of colours already Wink) they make the colours floating point values / decimals. This will result in better accuracy, and mostly clip-free colours.


Or this?

sey wrote::lol: I mean very good. I was just testing you.
Sorry, bad englerish

Image

Return to “Triplane Turmoil Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest