What specs does it need?

Prattle and quarrel about the fictional WW1 arcade air-battle game
Paasky
n00b
n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:14 am

What specs does it need?

Postby Paasky » Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:18 am

As Triplane is now 3d, what pc's do use? Can I still play on my 233mhz Pentium2, with 64mb of SIMM-ram? B) Or should I purchase some sort of 3d-card? 16mb?

How about the size? Is it going to be huge (as in over 50 megs), or about 10mb? Maby even less?

The questions, the questions...
User avatar
Dragst
Crew
Crew
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Dragst » Mon Feb 02, 2004 12:55 pm

The lazyness, the lazyness... there's already been discussions about this somewhere over here B)

Well, most likely you need a 3d-card. "Sorry". As for the cpu power, we've been doing extra efforts to make it work with low-end machines. It appears 300MhZ P2 with matrox G200 is still ok to play tt2 :)
User avatar
dekstar
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 8:44 pm
Location: Wales, UK.
Contact:

Mwahahaha

Postby dekstar » Mon Feb 16, 2004 11:04 pm

My High-end powerfull computer-to be, will eat up your 'computer small specs needing program' for breakfast! Um... Yes, that is as right as I can get it.

Dont forget - http://www.Livejournal.com/~dekstar
smelly?
Lindfors
n00b
n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 2:49 pm
Location: Suomi
Contact:

Postby Lindfors » Fri Jul 23, 2004 2:53 pm

In what OS will TT2 run ??
Dos, Win98, Win XP, Linux...

Is it possible that Linux version would be available??
User avatar
dekstar
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 8:44 pm
Location: Wales, UK.
Contact:

Yeah

Postby dekstar » Sun Jul 25, 2004 3:00 pm

But wouldn't a Linux version need to have some different programming in it? After all, there's the different extensions and stuff to do. And What if Dragst or one of the others doesn't have Linux or UNIX. Just a thought. At any rate I guess that a Linux version would, if anything, be available after the Windows O/S is done. And talking of that. dragst, I would have thought you would have some sort of UNIX O/S on your computer somewhere. I am hoping to buy a new small HDD to put Linux Mandrake on, because the games on it rule! Oh, any update on the CD size for us lucky CD owners?
smelly?
User avatar
TZ
Scarred Veteran
Scarred Veteran
Posts: 1033
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Nurkka
Contact:

Postby TZ » Mon Jul 26, 2004 9:46 am

Ehmm you are buying Linux for the games?

But behold, I have foretold the future! I predicted the arrival of hundreds of topics like this! I am so 1337
The post above should not be taken seriously.
User avatar
Dragst
Crew
Crew
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Dragst » Mon Jul 26, 2004 2:44 pm

Well, unfortunately currently only win32 version will be made, but the game is modular enough it to be easilly portable, if we could write the low level stuff for linux. Hopefully we can offer at least a linux/unix server executable.
User avatar
dekstar
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 8:44 pm
Location: Wales, UK.
Contact:

Erm..

Postby dekstar » Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:46 pm

No, not exactly Tz... *looks shiftily round the room*... See, I won't be buying it. My friend has Mandrake and I will be using for other stuff, liiiike so I can mess around with it's open source code and such. But the games on Mandrake (The newest one) do indeed rule. It'll only be a small 20gb HDD. Oh, A question for Dragst: You obviously know UNIX, are all the programs in UNIX like open source? I'm sure I saw like Quake 3 on my friends installation, and it looked open source to me. I bet i'm wrong. Oh, and something weird happened to my friends instal of Linux - He wanted to get rid of it to free up space on his small HDD (It also had Windows ME on it) and when he got rid of it the proper way, it kinda messed up his HDD and he lost half his HDD, I think something like 20gb. He can't get it back at all and the computer doesn't even see anything wrong with it. Little help?
smelly?
User avatar
Ezko
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 372
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Ezko » Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:59 am

Windows is fine... It sometimes crashes and stuff. But so what?
Triplane ROCKS!!!
User avatar
MacAnkka
Regular
Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 10:39 am
Location: Finland, country of booze and polarbears

Postby MacAnkka » Thu Aug 12, 2004 2:46 pm

Ezko wrote:Windows is fine... It sometimes crashes and stuff. But so what?


"so what"?!? Because of your kind of people OS development hasnt advanced much in the last years. New brakethroughs and more stable systems are not coming if you dont even care about it...
User avatar
Dragst
Crew
Crew
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Dragst » Fri Aug 13, 2004 2:25 am

Yeah, and the "so what" part becomes a bit irritating when you WORK with your computer. I'd go as far as to say that 1/10 portion of all work I do goes to fix/boot/repair/tweak some part of windows. So in certain way, it affects our development speed as well. Marginally perhaps, but still. I personally could easilly live without the random fighting I need to do with win.
User avatar
Ezko
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 372
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Ezko » Sat Aug 14, 2004 4:08 pm

I'd like to get Linux or some other OS Windows REALLY sucks sometimes.
Triplane ROCKS!!!
User avatar
Dragst
Crew
Crew
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Contact:

Postby Dragst » Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:05 am

lol :)
User avatar
TZ
Scarred Veteran
Scarred Veteran
Posts: 1033
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Nurkka
Contact:

Postby TZ » Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:17 am

Ezko wrote:I'd like to get Linux or some other OS Windows REALLY sucks sometimes.


The understatement of the year! My Windows crashes approximately 1/4 of the times I start it. Good job Microsoft!
The post above should not be taken seriously.
User avatar
MacAnkka
Regular
Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 10:39 am
Location: Finland, country of booze and polarbears

Postby MacAnkka » Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:59 am

Ezko wrote:Windows is fine


Ezko wrote:Windows REALLY sucks sometimes


why do i find this a little bit odd? :cheesy:

Return to “Triplane Turmoil Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest